Grounding apps, compared honestly: offline and no account (2026)

This is a small category, and we'll say so upfront: only a couple of dedicated grounding apps have enough of a track record to judge fairly. Grounded: Anxiety Relief and Ground: Anxiety Relief cover the core 5-4-3-2-1 method for $4.99 once or free. Reground includes it too, alongside 21 other techniques, for $5.99 once. Not one of the three charges a subscription. Reground needs no account and works offline, in airplane mode; Grounded says it uses no accounts either. All of them target the same moment: panic, anxiety, or dissociation that needs interrupting now.

How we picked these grounding apps

A disclosure: we make Reground, one of the apps below. We only included apps built specifically around grounding, and we're upfront about which ones are too new, unmaintained, or too sparsely reviewed to assess fairly, a single 1-star review from one person isn't evidence either way. Judge for yourself.

Grounding apps compared: price, account, rating

AppPrice (US)RatingAccountGenuinely best at
Free & pay-once
Ground: Anxiety Relief $0 no ratings Not stated Simple 5-4-3-2-1 walkthrough plus guided breathing. Not updated since 2023.
Grounded: Anxiety Relief $4.99 once no ratings None Gesture-driven 5-4-3-2-1 with haptics, swipe, hold, drag
Reground $5.99 once · free tier new 2026 None The only app here with an App Store "Data Not Collected" label, 22 techniques, one payment.

Prices and ratings checked on the US App Store, August 2026. Regional prices vary. "Account" reflects what each app states on its own App Store page; where an app says nothing, we've written "not stated" rather than assume. Offline behaviour we can only confirm for our own app, so we haven't made it a column. Several smaller grounding apps exist but are too new or too sparsely reviewed to assess fairly, so we've left them out rather than guess.

Which grounding app should you get?

If you want grounding as part of a fuller kit: Reground (ours)

$5.99 once for 22 techniques, including 5-4-3-2-1 guided one sense at a time.

Grounding is one tool in the kit, not the whole app, when 5-4-3-2-1 doesn't land, breathing patterns, writing tools, and body practices are already there. Honest limits: it's new (launched 2026), iPhone-only for now, and English-only. See our panic-app comparison for tools built around acute panic specifically. Six techniques are free forever.

Evidence labels for each technique are published here.

If you just want 5-4-3-2-1, nothing else: Grounded or Ground

Grounded: $4.99 once, gesture and haptic driven. Ground: free, simple, with breathing built in.

Both are single-purpose and cheap or free, which is honestly the right shape for this job. Neither has a single App Store rating yet, so there's no history to lean on either way. One caveat worth knowing: Ground has not been updated since September 2023, so treat it as unmaintained rather than new.

If you don't want an app at all: our free guide

Grounding needs no download, no account, and no purchase to work.

Our 5-4-3-2-1 guide walks through the full technique free, with honest notes on what the evidence does and doesn't say. Read it once and you'll never need to open it again to remember the steps.

What the evidence says, and what you're paying for

An evidence note, honestly: 5-4-3-2-1 specifically has thin research, no trial has tested this exact five-step sequence on its own, as our own guide says plainly. Grounding as a broader category is a standard, well-supported part of trauma-informed and anxiety care. The technique itself is free everywhere. What you're paying an app for, if anything, is a nicer way to walk through it.

Common questions

Is there a grounding app that works offline without an account?

Reground needs no account and no sign-in, and every technique runs offline, including in airplane mode. Grounded: Anxiety Relief also states on its App Store page that it uses no accounts. Ground: Anxiety Relief does not say either way, so we won't claim it does.

How much does a grounding app cost?

Very little. Ground: Anxiety Relief is free, Grounded: Anxiety Relief is a $4.99 one-time purchase, and Reground is $5.99 once with six techniques free forever. None of the three charges a subscription. Checked on the US App Store, August 2026.

Do I need an app to do 5-4-3-2-1 grounding?

No. The technique needs no download, no account and no purchase. Reground publishes the full 5-4-3-2-1 sequence as a free guide, with honest notes on the evidence. An app only helps if you want the pacing and haptics handled for you mid-panic.

Does the 5-4-3-2-1 grounding technique actually work?

The research on this exact five-step sequence is thin: no trial has tested it on its own. Grounding as a broader category is a standard part of trauma-informed and anxiety care. Reground labels the technique accordingly rather than overstating it.

Why we built Reground

Grounding is a small, honest category, a couple of single-purpose apps, a free guide, and not much else. That's the right size for what 5-4-3-2-1 needs. But anxiety rarely stops at one technique, and most people who reach for grounding also need something for the ten minutes before or after it.

Reground is our answer: 5-4-3-2-1 alongside 21 other techniques therapists actually teach, a phone that physically breathes with you, and honest research labels on every technique, priced once, like a good book. No account, no sign-in, no tracking, and it works offline, even in airplane mode. The App Store privacy label says "Data Not Collected" because there is nothing to collect it with.

Six techniques are free forever, including box breathing. If it helps, $5.99 unlocks the rest, once.

22 techniques, honest evidence labels, nothing leaves your phone.

Six techniques are free forever, try Reground tonight and see if it earns the one payment.

$5.99 once unlocks everything. No subscription. Ever.

Download on theApp Store

Prices & facts checked · August 2026